Elegant ghost Maxine Marie responds to “hitting 40”

376743_10151060948417591_639062236_nRJ: Congratulations on hitting 40, Maxine!

[Maxine slaps RJ]

RJ: Hey, what was that for?

Maxine: I’ll have you know, Mister, that I haven’t been a day over 33 in nearly 50 years!

RJ: ….That would only make sense to you, Maxine.

Maxine: Why, thanks. I think.

RJ: I just mean that yesterday, Haunting Obsession received its 40th review on Amazon, and even though it was my second book, it’s easily the most it’s the most popular book in my loose trilogy in terms of both sales and reviews. So I thought—

[Maxine slaps RJ’s other cheek]

RJ: Ow! Seriously? What is wrong with you??

2012, with RJ and Nikki Howard as "Maxine Marie".

RJ and Nikki Howard as “Maxine Marie”.

Maxine: You just called me loose. I may be dumb, but I’m not stupid.

RJ: No, I just mean that Haunting Obsession can be read on its own, without the other two books, but it also acts as a bridge story between Haunting Blue and Virtual Blue.

Maxine: Oh, well, why didn’t you just say so?

RJ: I thought you’d want a chance to thank our loyal readers for all their support in getting us this far.

Maxine: Thank them? Shouldn’t you be thanking me? Do you want me to tell your “loyal readers” what you pay me to be your ongoing mascot every time you can’t think of a clever idea for a blog?

Art by Nell Williams.

Art by Nell Williams.

RJ: Hey now! I’m just saying, we owe our audience a huge thank you because we’d never had done it without them.

Maxine: Or maybe your loyal readers know an awesome cover when they see it. I mean, look at me. I am a dish, aren’t I? And Bonnie Wasson captured my good side.

RJ: Well, yes, it is a great cover, but—

Maxine: I mean, let’s face it, prop it up at your table and it sells itself. What fan of steamy ghost fiction can possibly resist?

RJ: Fine, then let me talk. I wrote this to extend my heart-felt thanks to each and every reader and for all the terrific comments I’ve heard about Haunting Obsession since its release.  And I want to thank my publisher Seventh Star for it’s incredible support of me on this journey, and all my peers and friends who have helped me in more ways than I can say. I promise the best is yet to come. Most especially to Bonnie Wasson, Nell Williams, Nikki Howard, and Lily Monstermeat for offering their great interpretations of the character for me to use.

[RJ looks at Maxine]

Maxine: What?

Lily Monstermeat as Maxine Marie.

Lily Monstermeat as Maxine Marie.

RJ: Don’t you have anything to say?

Maxine: Sure. Thank you, RJ’s readers, for demonstrating your elegant good taste and serving as my willing minions in my plans to take over the world…one book at a time.

RJ: Okay, never mind, just join me in taking a bow.

Maxine: [wink] Ah-ha, I knew you were up to something, Mister.

Thank you, readers, for helping me reach this milestone. As a good friend likes to say: The Best is Yet To Come.

HAPPY LABOR DAY WEEKEND!!!

Advertisements

About R.J. Sullivan

R.J. Sullivan’s latest book, Commanding the Red Lotus, is a novel-length collection of three space opera tales in the tradition of Andre Norton and Gene Roddenberry. His novel Haunting Blue is an edgy paranormal thriller and the first book of the adventures of punk girl Fiona “Blue” Shaefer and her boyfriend Chip Farren. Seventh Star Press also released Haunting Obsession, a Rebecca Burton Novella, and Virtual Blue, the second part of Fiona’s tale. R.J.’s short stories have been featured in such acclaimed collections as Dark Faith Invocations by Apex Books and Vampires Don’t Sparkle. R.J. co-hosts the Two Towers Talk Show YouTube program with John F. Allen. He resides with his family in Heartland Crossing, Indiana. He drinks regularly from a Little Mermaid coffee mug and is man enough to admit it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Elegant ghost Maxine Marie responds to “hitting 40”

  1. Pingback: Review-Interview: R.J. Sullivan’s HAUNTING OBSESSION | The Crimes of Heaven and Hell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s