I’m the Next Big Thing? Who Knew?

the-next-big-thingWelcome to my posting for The Next Big Thing, the traveling blog that asks authors who they consider the Next Big Thing, then has them pass along the questions for those authors to answer in their blogs.

I’m honored to have been picked last week by Michael West as his choice for the Next Big Thing.

And now without any further ado, here are my answers to the questions.

1. What is the title of your next book/work?

My next novel is Virtual Blue. I have a short story coming out in January in Vampires Don’t Sparkle, an anthology edited by Michael West and to be released by Seventh Star Press, but VB is my next major project.

2. Where did the idea come from for the book/work?

Haunting Blue Low Rez coverWhen I finished drafting Haunting Blue, my first novel, I had no inspiration that warranted going on with the story. Then a peer challenged me to brainstorm a sequel. An idea came to me that I fell in love with, and now I can’t wait to share it.

3. What genre does your book/work fall under?

Part science fiction, part paranormal thriller. Think of the good guys battling demons in cyberspace.

4. What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

I’ve never considered who might play Blue, and no one is coming to mind, but computer nerd “Chip” Farren looks very much like an actor from “Days of our Lives” named Blake Berris, who started playing…well, a computer nerd…on the program in 2009. Since I would never openly admit to watching a soap opera, you will have to assume that someone must have pointed this out to me….. Ahem.

http://www.nbc.com/days-of-our-lives/about/bio/cast/blake-berris/625666

5 What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

I don’t have an official one yet, so we’ll go with this bad cliché for now: She fled from her past, but it caught up with her.

6 Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

It will come out in the summer of 2013 by small press publisher Seventh Star Press.

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

18 months and counting–my deadline is in February.

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I can’t think of any books that have done this, exactly, but if we’re talking movies, it’s part Tron, part Dreamscape, part Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors–that gives you a good idea of the vibe.

9. Who or what inspired you to write this book?  

I didn’t want to write a sequel to the story of Blue and Chip unless I could bring something interesting to the next chapter. In Haunting Blue, the story takes place on the streets, in a brawl, in “Blue’s” punk girl world. I wanted to tell a cyber thriller story in which Chip is in his element and  Blue is the one who can’t figure out the rules. From that spark, the rest fell into place.

10. What else about the book might pique the reader¹s interest?

376743_10151060948417591_639062236_nBlue is assisted by a certain paranormal investigator from my novella Haunting Obsession.

Learn more about R.J. Sullivan at www.rjsullivanfiction.com .

And now to introduce you to my picks for the Next Big Thing(s):

Editor Prime and sci-fi/fantasy/romance author Debra Holland.

Dr. Holland holds a master’s degree in Marriage, Family, and Child Therapy, and holds a PhD in Counseling Psychology from the University of Southern California, and is a licensed Marriage and Family Therapist. She has twenty-one years of experience counseling with individuals, couples, and groups. Dr. Holland is a popular psychotherapist, consultant, and speaker on the topics of communication difficulties, relationships, stress, and dealing with difficult people. She is a featured expert for the media, and does entertainment consulting.

Paranormal/sci-fi/Urban fantasy author Eric Garrison .

Eric Garrison is active in the writing community in Indianapolis, Indiana. He lives in the Circle City with his wife, step-daughter and four cats. He also enjoys gaming and homebrewing beer. Eric released four urban fantasy novels.  These include the Road Ghosts trilogy (Four ’til Late, Sinking Down, and Me and the Devil), as well as his most recent novel, Blue Spirit. His novels are dark supernatural fantasies, dealing with ghosts, demonic possession and (in Blue Spirit) even sinister fairy folk.  These novels are all available in paperback, PDF and Kindle format. Eric’s short story, “Drag Show” appeared in the Fall 2011 edition of Strange, Weird and Wonderful Magazine.  His flash piece, “Dark Reflection”, appeared in the Indiana Horror 2011 anthology.

Superhero fiction author Matt Adams .

Matt is a former TV news producer whose stories have appeared in Wily Writers Podcast and anthologies from Library of the Living Dead Press and Timid Pirate Publishing. He lives and works in Indianapolis, Indiana, with his wife and (possibly) man-eating frog. Once, long ago, he planned to patrol the streets as Batman, but ultimately decided writing was safer and more cost-effective. He was only half right. His first novel, I, Crimsonstreak, is now out from Candlemark & Gleam!

Vampire lit. author Roberta Hoffer .

Advertisements

About R.J. Sullivan

R.J. Sullivan’s latest book, Commanding the Red Lotus, is a novel-length collection of three space opera tales in the tradition of Andre Norton and Gene Roddenberry. His novel Haunting Blue is an edgy paranormal thriller and the first book of the adventures of punk girl Fiona “Blue” Shaefer and her boyfriend Chip Farren. Seventh Star Press also released Haunting Obsession, a Rebecca Burton Novella, and Virtual Blue, the second part of Fiona’s tale. R.J.’s short stories have been featured in such acclaimed collections as Dark Faith Invocations by Apex Books and Vampires Don’t Sparkle. R.J. co-hosts the Two Towers Talk Show YouTube program with John F. Allen. He resides with his family in Heartland Crossing, Indiana. He drinks regularly from a Little Mermaid coffee mug and is man enough to admit it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s